- Associated Press - Wednesday, April 4, 2018

The 2018 Associated Press Class B boys basketball All-State team as selected by a panel of 10 Michigan sportswriters.

Player of the Year

Romeo Weems, New Haven, Jr.

Train company claps back at Greta Thunberg over floor pic, notes 'first class' seat
FBI's wiretap of Trump campaign triggered by anonymous call
Rand Paul fears impeachment will 'dumb down and destroy the country'


First-Team All-State

Romeo Weems, New Haven, Jr.

Mario Whitley, Frankenmuth, Sr.

Bryce Drews, Hillsdale, Sr.

Mark Watts, Detroit Old Redford, Jr.

Trevion Williams, Detroit Henry Ford Academy, Sr.

Cole Kleiver, Williamston, Sr.

Marcus Bingham, Grand Rapids Catholic Central, Sr.

Carlos Johnson, Benton Harbor, So.

Luke Tolliver, Paw Paw, Sr.

Isaiah Jackson, Detroit Old Redford, So.


Coach of the Year

Corey Sterling, Benton Harbor


Second-Team All-State

Charles Garrett, Bridgeport, Sr.

Wendell Green, Detroit Country Day, So.

Markeese Hastings, Wyoming Godwin Heights, Sr.

Lamar Norman, Wyoming Godwin Heights, Sr.

Cameryn Carpenter, Flint Powers, Sr.

Jayvien Torrance-Jackson, River Rouge, Sr.


Honorable Mention

(Nominees receiving one or no votes from the 10-member panel)

Jerry Luciani, Marshall; Brandon Rake, Whitehall; Logan Karnemaat, Fremont; SirQuarius Ball, Bridgeport; Terryon Liddell, Saginaw Swan Valley; Markele Garrett, Bridgeport; Sam Gray, Frankenmuth; Riley Bugg, North Branch; Owen Irvin, Tawas; Trevor Ballard, Milan; Steele Fortress, Parma Western; Damon Anguiano, Alma; Tyler Smith, Clare; Tomas Teklergergis, Harrison; Deontae Balderas, Harrison; Braeden Childress, Big Rapids; Joshua Laman, Ludington; Mason Gardner, Boyne City; Justin Nicholas, Grayling; Quinn Blair, Dearborn Divine Child; Anthony Roberts, Detroit Henry Ford; Torrell Williams, Cranbrook-Kingswood; Julian Roper, Detroit Country Day; Nick Dueweke, Pontiac Notre Dame Prep; Ben Davidson, St. Clair; Tavares Oliver Jr., New Haven; Ashton Sherrell, New Haven; Ronald Jeffery III, New Haven; Brandon Paul, Sault Ste. Marie; Carson Vincent, Ovid-Elsie; Nick Jungel, Olivet; Mitchell Mowid, Haslett; Brady Swinehart, Ionia; Sean Cobb, Williamston; Thomas Griggs, Wyoming Kelloggsville; Carter Nyp, Wayland; Jacob Polakovich, Grand Rapids Catholic Central; Luke Schrotenboer, Grand Rapids South Christian; Logan Serba, Comstock Park; Tyler VanKovering, Hudsonville Unity Christian; Solomon White, Grand Rapids Forest Hills Eastern; Makai Connor, Flint Powers; Tyson Davis, Goodrich; Jalen Rawls, Mount Morris; Sam Johnson, Spring Lake; Zach Goodline, Coloma; Shaun Hopkins, Benton Harbor; Tirrell Hausmanis, Three Rivers; Evan Finch, Plainwell; Alex Finney, Cranbrook-Kingswood; Demetriess Champion, Detroit Country Day; Jack Hannon, Pontiac Notre Dame Prep; Amier Gilmore, St. Clair Shores South Lake; Charles Woodhams, Otsego

Coach of the Year

Nick Redman, Boyne City

Josh Latz, Ovid-Elsie

Mark White, River Rouge

TJ Meerman, Grand Rapids Catholic Central

Matt Dennis, Otsego


Voting panel: Drew Ellis, The Oakland Press; Dave Goricki, The Detroit News; Brian Calloway, Lansing State Journal; Hugh Bernreuter, The Saginaw News; Tony Garcia, Jackson Citizen Patriot; James Cook, Traverse City Record-Eagle; Mark Opferman, The Muskegon Chronicle; Brendan Savage, The Flint Journal; Corky Emrick, Sturgis Journal; Steve Kaminski, The Grand Rapids Press.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide