- Associated Press - Wednesday, August 22, 2018

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - Farmers and ranchers in two southeastern Iowa counties who’ve suffered losses and damages from recent drought may now be eligible for federal emergency loans.

That news came Wednesday as the U.S. Department of Agriculture announced that Appanoose and Van Buren counties have been designated as primary natural disaster areas.

Producers in the contiguous counties of Davis, Henry, Jefferson, Lee, Lucas, Monroe, Wapello and Wayne, along with several in Missouri, also are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

Producers have until April 8 to apply for emergency loans announced Wednesday to help cover losses.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide