By Associated Press - Monday, December 10, 2018

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - The Federal Emergency Management Agency has again denied Gov. Kim Reynolds’ request for disaster assistance to flood victims in four Iowa counties.

Reynolds announced Monday that FEMA had denied her appeal of the agency’s earlier denial of help to victims in Buchanan, Dickinson, Polk and Winnebago counties. The request followed severe storms and flooding from June 6 to July 2. FEMA notified the governor in August that the impact wasn’t severe enough to merit individual assistance.

President Donald Trump declared the four counties presidential disaster areas, making them available for other assistance.

Reynolds also issued a disaster proclamation for the counties and has worked to provide more than $2.8 million in aid.

Last week, FEMA denied individual disaster aid to victims of July tornadoes that hit Marshall and Polk counties.

Copyright © 2022 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide