- Associated Press - Wednesday, February 7, 2018

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) - Minnesota has added eight preferred walk-ons to the program, including three players from the state.

Minnetonka linebacker Ty Barron, Mounds View tight end Max Janes and Chaska linebacker Micah Roane committed Wednesday to the Gophers for the 2018 season. Barron and Roane were Associated Press first team all-state selections.

Two walk-ons came from Wisconsin: defensive lineman Jack Kern (Eau Claire Memorial) and tight end Jack McNeil (Madison Edgewood). Another came from South Dakota: kicker Brock Walker (Sioux Falls Washington).

The Gophers used the new early signing period to put 26 new players on scholarship Dec. 20 and complete the 2018 class. Other teams around the country added recruits Wednesday on what has historically been national signing day, but most prospects had already signed in the first window.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide