- Associated Press - Tuesday, January 9, 2018

TRENTON, N.J. (AP) - New Jersey’s 120-member Legislature has formally been sworn in and is starting its new session.

New and returning lawmakers in the 80-member Assembly and 40-member Senate took their oaths of office in Trenton on Tuesday.

Like the previous Legislature, Democrats will have control.

They added one new Democrat in the Senate, where the party controls 25 seats and picked up two seats in the Assembly, where they control 54 seats.

Senate President Steve Sweeney returned to leadership, but Craig Coughlin has succeeded Vincent Prieto as Assembly speaker.

Democratic Gov.-elect Phil Murphy will take the oath of office Jan. 16.

GOP Gov. Chris Christie is set to give his final state of the state Tuesday.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide