- Associated Press - Monday, November 19, 2018

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Mississippi State defensive lineman Jeffery Simmons, Ole Miss receiver A.J. Brown and Southern Mississippi receiver Quez Watkins are among the 10 finalists for the Conerly Trophy.

The Conerly is given each year to the most outstanding college football player in Mississippi. This is the 23rd year for the award, and the winner will be announced on Nov. 27 in Jackson. The featured speaker will be former Ole Miss and New Orleans Saints star Deuce McAllister.

Brown won the Conerly Trophy in 2017.

The other finalists for the award include Alcorn State quarterback Noah Johnson, Belhaven linebacker Denarrius Noel, Delta State quarterback Patrick Shegog, Jackson State kicker and punter Christian Jacquemin, Millsaps linebacker Chandler Coleman, Mississippi College running back Tiberias Lampkin and Mississippi Valley receiver/running back Booker Chambers.


More AP college football: https://apnews.com/collegefootball and https://twitter.com/AP_Top25 .

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide