By Associated Press - Friday, November 9, 2018

SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - Majority Republicans in the Utah Legislature have chosen new leaders for the House and Senate as they reorganized in the wake of Tuesday’s election.

House Republicans picked Rep. Brad Wilson of Kaysville as House speaker while Senate Republicans chose Sen. J. Stuart Adams of Layton as Senate president.

The Senate Republicans’ leadership team also includes Sen. Evan Wickers as majority leader and Sen. Dam Hemmert as majority whip.

House Republicans also chose Reo. Francis Gibson as majority leader and Rep. Mike Schultz as majority whip.

Senate Democrats elected Sen. Karen Mayne as Senate minority leader. She’s from the west side of Salt Lake County.

House Democrats plan to pick their leaders on Nov. 20 after election results are official.

Copyright © 2022 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide