- Associated Press - Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Tua Tagovailoa and four of his Alabama teammates highlight The Associated Press midseason All-America team.

Tagovailoa, the prolific quarterback of the top-ranked Crimson Tide, has 21 touchdown passes and no interceptions without having to attempt a pass in the fourth quarter because Alabama has been so thoroughly dominant. The Tide is averaging 53.6 points per game.

Joining Tagovailoa on the first-team offense is receiver Jerry Jeudy and offensive linemen Jonah Williams and Ross Pierschbacher. Tide safety Deionte Thompson was selected to the first-team defense, and defensive tackle Quinnen Williams made the second team.

No. 5 LSU placed three players on the first-team defense: linebacker Devin White, cornerback Greedy Williams and safety Grant Delpit.

Darrell Henderson of Memphis and Wisconsin’s Jonathan Taylor were the first team running backs on the teams released Tuesday.



Quarterback - Tua Tagovailoa, sophomore, Alabama.

Running backs - Jonathan Taylor, sophomore, Wisconsin; Darrell Henderson, junior, Memphis.

Tackles - Jonah Williams, junior, Alabama; Mitch Hyatt, senior, Clemson.

Guards - Beau Benzschawel, senior, Wisconsin; Shane Lemieux, junior, Oregon.

Center - Ross Pierschbacher, senior, Alabama.

Tight end - Jace Sternberger, junior, Texas A&M.

Receivers - Laviska Shenault Jr., sophomore, Colorado; Jerry Jeudy, sophomore, Alabama.

All-purpose player - Greg Dortch, sophomore, Wake Forest.

Kicker - Andre Szmyt, freshman, Syracuse.


Ends - Clelin Ferrell, junior, Clemson; Chase Winovich, senior, Michigan.

Tackles - Ed Oliver, junior, Houston; Gerald Willis III, senior, Miami.

Linebackers - Josh Allen, senior, Kentucky; Devin White, junior, LSU; Ben Burr-Kirven, senior, Washington.

Cornerbacks - Julian Love, junior, Notre Dame; Greedy Williams, sophomore, LSU.

Safeties - Deionte Thompson, junior, Alabama; Grant Delpit, sophomore, LSU.

Punter - Braden Mann, junior, Texas A&M.



Quarterback - Dwayne Haskins, sophomore, Ohio State.

Running backs - Travis Etienne, sophomore, Clemson; Benny Snell, junior, Kentucky.

Tackles - David Edwards, junior, Wisconsin; Greg Little, junior, Mississippi.

Guards - Terronne Prescod, senior, North Carolina State; Ben Bredeson, junior, Michigan.

Center - Michael Jordan, junior, Ohio State.

Tight end - Noah Fant, junior, Iowa.

Receivers - Marquise Brown, junior, Oklahoma; John Ursua, junior, Hawaii.

All-purpose player - Rondale Moore, freshman, Purdue.

Kicker - Cole Tracy, senior, LSU.


Ends - Montez Sweat, junior, Mississippi State; Brian Burns, junior, Florida State.

Tackles - Jerry Tillery, senior, Notre Dame; Quinnen Williams, sophomore, Alabama.

Linebackers - Devin Bush, junior, Michigan; Porter Gustin, senior, Southern California; Curtis Bolton, senior, Oklahoma.

Cornerbacks - Deandre Baker, senior, Georgia; Adrian Frye, freshman, Texas Tech.

Safeties - Taylor Rapp, junior, Washington; Ugochukwu Amadi, senior, Oregon.

Punter - Ryan Stonehouse, sophomore, Colorado State.


Voter panel: Bob Asmussen, Champaign (Ill.) News-Gazette; Matt Baker, Tampa Bay (Fla.) Times; Michael Barber, Richmond (Va.) Times-Dispatch; Matt Brown , The Athletic; Robert Cessna, Bryan-College Station (Texas) Eagle; Rece Davis, ESPN; Pat Dooley, Gainesville (Fla.) Sun; Scott Hamilton, WECT-TV Wilmington, North Carolina; Eric Hansen, The South Bend (Ind.) Tribune; Brian Howell, Buffzone.com; Rob Long, WJZ-FM 105.7 The Fan Baltimore; Sean Manning, The (Morgantown, W.Va.) Dominion Post; Conor O’Neill, Winston-Salem (N.C.) Journal; Soren Petro, 810 WHB Kansas City, Missouri; Keith Sargeant, NJ.com/The Star Ledger; Jon Wilner, San Jose (Calif.) Mercury News.

Copyright © 2022 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide