- Associated Press - Friday, September 14, 2018

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - A federal agency has denied disaster assistance for residents and business owners of Marshall and Polk counties who endured tornadoes in July.

Gov. Kim Reynolds‘ office announced Friday the Federal Emergency Management Agency had denied the governor’s request for assistance through the Individual Assistance Program for losses from the July 19 tornadoes. In denying the governor’s request, FEMA stated that the impact from the tornadoes wasn’t severe enough to warrant the help.

The program helps survivors with housing, property replacement, medical expenses and legal services.

Reynolds has 30 days to file an appeal.

In August, FEMA also denied Reynolds‘ request for assistance through the same program following severe storms from June 6 to July 2. The governor has submitted an appeal of that decision.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide