By Associated Press - Saturday, November 16, 2019

SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - Seasonal fire restrictions are being extended in 11 Utah counties by a month due to what officials say are dry conditions and continued problems with controlling wildfires.

The state Department of Natural Resources says State Forester Brian Cottam has signed proclamations to ban debris burning without a permit in unincorporated areas of the 11 counties before Dec. 1.

The department says the actions apply to Juab, Millard, Piute, Sanpete, Sevier, Wayne, Beaver, Iron, Washington, Garfield and Kane counties.

According to the department, the extensions are a response to record fire danger across much of central and southern Utah, regions that have gone without precipitation since June.

The department says the conditions “have made for fire behavior not normally seen in November.”

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide