- Associated Press - Sunday, September 15, 2019

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. (AP) - The University of Illinois has recognized five professors at the Urbana-Champaign campus for their excellence in teaching and service.

The University Scholars program started in 1985. Recipients receive $15,000 a year for three years to use toward scholarly work, including for travel, research assistants and books. Applicants are nominated from each campus of the university system.

This year’s winners for the Urbana-Champaign campus are entomology professor Brian Allan, classics professor Antony Augoustakis, computer science professor Karrie Karahalios, physics professor Nadya Mason and bioengineering professor Brad Sutton.

Barbara Wilson is the vice president for academic affairs for the U of I system. She says the program honors the best of the best.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide