- The Washington Times - Wednesday, September 18, 2019

The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame will give Alex Ovechkin the Wayne Gretzky International Award for “international individuals who have made major contributions to the growth and advancement of hockey in the United States,” it was announced Wednesday.

“Alex Ovechkin has inspired the next generation of players in the greater Washington, D.C. area and well beyond,” USA Hockey president Jim Smith said in a news release. “Apart from his talent on the ice, he’s made an enormous contribution to the hockey community off the ice as well.”

The Russian has played his entire NHL career with the Washington Capitals and helped make the sport popular in the region. He’s also being recognized for his work with the American Special Hockey Association.

Previous winners of the award include Gretzky, Scotty Bowman and Bobby Hull.

The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame’s annual induction ceremony will take place Dec. 12 at the Marriott Marquis in Washington, where Ovechkin will accept the award.

Part of the hall’s class in 2019 is Neal Henderson, the youth coach who founded Fort Dupont Ice Hockey Club in the District.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide