- The Washington Times - Wednesday, August 3, 2022

Rep. Peter Meijer lost his primary race Tuesday in Michigan’s 3rd Congressional District, handing former President Donald Trump another victory in his quest to rid the House of Republicans who voted to impeach him for inciting the Jan. 6, 2021, riot at the U.S. Capitol.

Another pair of pro-impeachment Republicans — Reps. Dan Newhouse and Jaime Herrera Beulter, both of Washington state — were awaiting their fate Wednesday morning.

But they were well-positioned to advance to the general election in Washington’s top-two primary system, while Mr. Trump’s preferred picks appeared to have fallen short.

Mr. Meijer’s loss came more than 18 months after he joined nine of his GOP colleagues in voting to impeach Mr. Trump.

The former president vowed revenge and has gotten it. Four pro-impeachment Republicans did not seek reelection, and two others have now lost primaries to Trump-backed challengers.

The attention will now turn to Rep. Liz Cheney’s Aug. 16 primary in Wyoming. Ms. Cheney has emerged as Mr. Trump’s top GOP critic and serves as co-chair of the House committee investigating the former president’s role in the Capitol riot.

She has won accolades from inside Washington and Republicans who want the party to move past Mr. Trump and his stolen-election claims.

But there is a growing sense that Ms. Cheney is headed for defeat against her Trump-backed challenger, Harriet Hageman.

In other words, there is a good chance that when Congress opens for business next year, there will be no more than three House Republicans who voted in favor of impeachment.

Of the 10 Republicans who voted to impeach Mr. Trump, Reps. Anthony Gonzalez of Ohio, Adam Kinzinger of Illinois, John Katko of New York and Fred Upton of Michigan decided not to run for reelection.

Rep. Tom Rice lost to a Trump-endorsed candidate.

Rep. David Valadao of California, meanwhile, did not draw a challenge from Trump world and advanced to the general election in the state’s top-two nonpartisan open primary.

• Seth McLaughlin can be reached at smclaughlin@washingtontimes.com.

Copyright © 2022 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide