Continued from page 4

2025: Mario Gomez starts for Germany, with Mats Hummels at center back. Here are the lineups:

Germany: Neuer, Hummels, Badstuber, Lahm, Boateng, Khedira, Schweinsteiger, Oezil, Mueller, Podolski, Gomez.

Portugal: Patricio, Alves, Pepe, Coentrao, Pereira, Veloso, Moutinho, Meireles, Nani, Ronaldo, Postiga


Germany substitutes: Wiese, Zieler, Schmelzer, Hoewedes, Mertesacker, Guendogan, Schuerrle, Bender, Kroos, Goetze, Reus, Klose.

Portugal substitues: Eduardo, Beto, Costa, Rolando, Lopes, Custodio, Quaresma, Micael, Viana, Almeida, Oliveira, Varela.


1957: Denmark deserve credit for a stubborn display. They were difficult to break down and looked dangerous when they attacked. But the last time the Dutch lost their opening game at the European Championship, they ended up winning the tournament in 1988.


1955: Shock result here at the Metalist Stadium as the Dutch are defeated by a resilient Denmark. Michael Krohn-Dehli took the only chance that fell his way in the first half while the Netherlands missed chance after chance. They will feel they should have had a penalty but the Dutch only have themselves to blame for not winning the match. If the 2010 World Cup runners-up lose to either Germany or Portugal, they will be out.


PhillipsIan: First shock of Euro 2012 as Dutch beaten 1-0 by Denmark. Can the perennial underachievers get back into the tournament now? (via Twitter)


1951: Sneijder’s delivery hits Huntelaar on the back of the head and the ball drifts wide of the far post. Huntelaar was furious not to get a penalty a couple of minutes ago when he tried to knock the ball past jacobsen. The ball did hit his hand, but the referee felt it was accidental.


Story Continues →