- The Washington Times - Friday, June 12, 2009

PARIS (AP) - Formula One will feature three new teams in the 2010 season, including one from the United States.

The sport’s governing body announced a lineup of 13 teams Friday, including all 10 current entrants _ although five of those were granted entry on a “conditional basis.”

The new entrants will be Spain-based Campos Grand Prix, Manor of Britain and American team US F1.

The FIA and the Formula One Teams Association have not agreed on a proposed budget cap that would become mandatory next season, causing some leading teams, including Ferrari, to threaten withdrawal from Formula One.

McLaren, Renault, Brawn GP, BMW Sauber and Toyota have been given a week to submit unconditional entries for next season or risk losing their places.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide