- Associated Press - Wednesday, December 1, 2010

BLACKSBURG, VA. (AP) - Virginia Tech quarterback Tyrod Taylor is the Atlantic Coast Conference’s player of the year for 2010.

Taylor, a senior who has led the No. 12 Hokies to 10 straight victories and their third ACC championship game in four seasons, was the choice of 27 of the 57 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association that voted. Russell Wilson of N.C. State received 19 votes.

The Hokies will play No. 20 Florida State on Saturday night in Charlotte, N.C.

Taylor is the first Hokies player to win since quarterback Bryan Randall in 2004.

Taylor leads the ACC in passing efficiency, having completed better than 60 percent of his attempts while throwing for 20 touchdowns and just four interceptions. He also is Virginia Tech’s second-leading rusher with 613 yards and has two runs of more than 70 yards.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide