- Associated Press - Wednesday, April 2, 2014

TALLULAH, La. (AP) - Qualifying has closed in Tallulah with eight candidates in the race for mayor.

Jann Williams-Buchanan and Felicia Dawn Williams, both Democrats, qualified Tuesday for the election, bringing the total list of candidates to eight.

The News-Star reports (https://tnsne.ws/1frSSFd ) qualifying reopened Friday after Mayor Eddie Beckwith Jr. died Thursday.

Gerald Michael Lott Jr., no party, and Sandra Cannon-Scott, Democrat, qualified for the race last week.

Paxton J. Branch, Arthur Lee, John Reed and Adell Williams, all Democrats, also are candidates in the race.

Though the mayor’s race has been postponed to May 3, Tallulah voters will still elect a chief of police and a City Council member Saturday.

Nathan Clark III, Buster McCoy, James E. Vaughn Jr., Democrats, and Donnell Rose, no party, are candidates for chief of police.


Information from: The News-Star, https://www.thenewsstar.com

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide