- Associated Press - Saturday, February 22, 2014

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - Bettendorf High won the Class 3A state title on Saturday in Des Moines, highlighting the closing night of the Iowa state wrestling tournament.

Bettendorf finished four points ahead of defending champion Southeast Polk for its fourth state crown. Waverly-Shell Rock was third.

Davenport Assumption won the Class 2A championship, with Mediapolis finishing second and Albia coming in third. Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont took top honors in Class 1A, followed by Alburnett and Clarion-Goldfield.

Union Laporte City junior Max Thomsen won his third state title, beating Andres Gonzalez of Clear Lake 5-4 to take the Class 2A crown at 138 pounds.

Bettendorf junior Fredy Stroker, Waterloo West senior Marcus Harrington, Lisbon sophomore Carter Happel and Bettendorf senior Logan Ryan each won their second state title.

Stroker earned a 3-1 decision over defending state champion Jake Koethe of West Des Moines Valley.

Identical twins Josh and Justin Portillo of Clarion-Goldfield each reached the finals. But while Josh won the Class A 113-pound title with a 6-1 decision over Alburnett’s Zach Fowler, Justin lost 6-5 to Highland-Riverside’s Drew West.

After finishing second last season, Center Point-Urbana’s Brock Rathbun, Bettendorf’s Jacob Schwarm, Mason City’s Sonny Onoo, Wilton’s Brady Ruden, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont’s Blake Marolf, Waverly-Shell Rock’s Bryce Steiert, Mount Vernon’s Trey Ryan and North Scott’s Mitch Bowman won state championships.

According to the Iowa High School Athletic Association, the finals were sold out for the 27th year in a row.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide