- Associated Press - Monday, October 2, 2017

MONACO (AP) - Usain Bolt, who won the IAAF world athlete of the year award six times, has not been included in the 10-men shortlist for this year’s prize.

The only sprinter to capture the 100- and 200-meter track titles at three consecutive Olympics, Bolt retired after this year’s world championships in London. He holds the world record of 9.58 seconds in the 100 and 19.19 in the 200.

Bolt’s farewell major meet didn’t go well. After a third-place finish in the 100, Bolt’s last race ended in the anguish of an injured hamstring while anchoring Jamaica’s 4x100-meter relay team.

The male nominees are Mutaz Essa Barshim, Pawel Fajdek, Mo Farah, Sam Kendricks, Elijah Manangoi, Luvo Manyonga, Omar McLeod, Christian Taylor, Wayde van Niekerk and Johannes Vetter.

The women’s list includes Almaz Ayana, Anita Wlodarczyk, Maria Lasitskene, Hellen Obiri, Sally Pearson, Sandra Perkovic, Brittney Reese, Caster Semenya, Ekaterini Stefanidi and Nafissatou Thiam.

The IAAF said Monday the finalists will be determined by a “three-way voting process.” Half of the votes will come from the IAAF council, 25 percent from the IAAF member federations and committee members, and the remaining 25 percent from a public vote on social media.

The awards will be announced on Nov. 24.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide