By Associated Press - Wednesday, January 13, 2021

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) - Indiana’s delegation on Wednesday voted along party lines as the U.S. House impeached President Donald Trump for “incitement of insurrection” over the deadly mob siege of the Capitol.

The state’s seven Republican House members voted against impeachment, while the two Democrats favored the impeachment of Trump for a history-making second time.

Rep. Larry Bucshon of the 8th District, called the push to impeach Trump both divisive and dangerous.

“Tensions and passions in the country are running high. This action by the Democrats will throw fuel on the fire,” Bucshon said in a tweeted statement. ”Calling for unity and then taking this divisive action shows their hypocrisy.”

With the Capitol secured by armed National Guard troops inside and out, the House voted 232-197 to impeach Trump.

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi invoked Abraham Lincoln and the Bible, imploring lawmakers to uphold their oath to defend the Constitution from all enemies, foreign “and domestic.”

Kevin McCarthy, the House Republican leader from California, said the president bears responsibility for the attack on the Capitol, but he voted against impeachment. Ten House Republicans voted in favor.

The four-page impeachment resolution relies on Trump’s own rhetoric and the falsehoods he spread about Biden’s election victory, including at a rally near the White House on the day of the Jan. 6 attack..

A Capitol Police officer died from injuries suffered in the riot, and police shot and killed a woman during the siege. Three other people died in what authorities said were medical emergencies.

“It was a sad but necessary duty today to vote to impeach the president, again,” Democratic 7th District Rep. Andre Carson said in a statement. ”But I swore an oath to protect and defend our Constitution, and our Democracy.”

Copyright © 2022 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide