By Associated Press - Wednesday, January 13, 2021

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - Tennessee lawmakers voted Wednesday to reelect the secretary of state and treasurer and pick a new comptroller.

The votes came a day after the House and Senate Republican supermajorities nominated Jason Mumpower to become comptroller and Secretary of State Tre Hargett and Treasurer David Lillard to keep their positions.

Mumpower has served as the top deputy for outgoing Comptroller Justin Wilson, who is retiring. Mumpower is a former Republican state representative from northeast Tennessee.

“I have a great tradition to uphold,” Mumpower said. “I have learned from the best.”

Lawmakers first elected Wilson, Hargett and Lillard to their statewide offices in 2009.

The secretary of state is elected to four-year terms, while the comptroller and treasurer serve two-year terms.

A Democratic objection to Hargett’s nomination prompted a dozen votes of present but not voting for the secretary of state. No one voted no.

Democrats have clashed with Hargett and fellow Republicans in the state over a variety of voting issues, including on absentee voting eligibility during the COVID-19 pandemic.

“We need to be respectful of one another,” Hargett said. “We can disagree without being disagreeable. And I know that this room and beyond, in Tennessee we are going to lead by example.”

Copyright © 2022 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide