Continued from page 2

“Right now, it is wall-to-wall Johnny Manziel,” Cook said about the media coverage. “The awareness for us is already there. Our approach is, we need to reach the right people with the right message to make the right decision. Our efforts are targeted directly at Heisman voters and the football writers.”

No freshman has ever won the award, and John David Crow is Texas A&M’s only winner, back in 1957.

Cook, who was instrumental in Texas A&M’s move from the Big 12 to the SEC, talked often about how the new league would bring increased exposure to the school.

“Our No. 1 decision factor was visibility, and Johnny Manziel is benefiting from that,” Cook said.

The Aggies can thank Manziel for some visibility, too.