The Washington Times - February 19, 2009, 06:14PM

The Tewaaraton watch list goes 60 players deep this spring, which certainly seems like a whole lot of players.

Like one for every Division I program —- and obviously not every program is represented.


But it’s out, and it seems worth paring down to the schools in general vicinity of D.C. —- i.e. the coverage area plus the Baltimore schools.

So here it is. If you’re a betting person, you could do far worse than picking Virginia attackman Danny Glading to win the award. But there’s more than three months of season to go (as opposed to two weeks of season in the rearview mirror), so this is just a glorified list of who is supposed to be good this spring.

GEORGETOWN: M Andrew Brancaccio, A Craig Dowd, D Barney Ehrmann, M Scott Kocis

JOHNS HOPKINS: D Matt Drenan, D Michael Evans

LOYOLA: M Shane Koppens, LSM P.T. Ricci

MARYLAND: A Grant Catalino, D Brian Farrell, M Dan Groot, A Will Yeatman

NAVY: A Tim Paul, D Andrew Tormey

UMBC: G Jeremy Blevins

VIRGINIA: A Garrett Billings, M Shamel Bratton, D Ken Clausen, A Danny Glading, D Matt Kelly

—- Patrick Stevens