The Washington Times - November 15, 2009, 12:32PM

Sixteen teams achieved bowl eligibility in the last week, which means the chances of the bowl-pocalypse occurring this season is really, really slim.

There are now 60 eligible teams for 68 spots, with 32 teams guaranteed to endure losing seasons (17 of which were assured this week).


That leaves 28 schools that must somehow fill eight bowl berths.

And, really, that’s a lot more likely than unlikely based on this list of schools with eligibility yet to be determined (remaining schedule included, with opponents that are already bowl ineligible in italics) —- meaning we’ll just have to wait another year for the bowl-pocalypse to wreak havoc on the bottom tier of the the bloated bowl system.

ONE WIN (16)

Bowling Green (5-5): Akron, Toledo
East Carolina (5-4): @Tulsa, UAB, Southern Mississippi
Florida State (5-5): Maryland, @Florida
Kansas (5-5): @Texas, vs. Missouri
Kansas State (6-5): @Nebraska
Kent State (5-5): @Temple, Buffalo
UL Lafayette (5-5): Louisiana-Monroe, Troy
Marshall (5-5): Southern Methodist, @UTEP
Michigan (5-6): Ohio State
South Florida (6-3): Louisville, Miami, @Connecticut
Tennessee (5-5): Vanderbilt, @Kentucky
Texas A&M (5-5): Baylor, Texas
UAB (5-5): @East Carolina, Central Florida
UCLA (5-5): Arizona State, @Southern California
Western Michigan (5-6): Ball State
Wyoming (5-5): Texas Christian, @Colorado State


Arizona State (4-6): @UCLA, Arizona
Army (4-6): @North Texas, vs. Navy
Baylor (4-6): @Texas A&M, vs. Texas Tech
Connecticut (4-5): @Notre Dame, Syracuse, South Florida
Duke (5-5): @Miami, Wake Forest
Louisville (4-6): @South Florida, Rutgers
Mississippi State (4-6): @Arkansas, Ole Miss
San Diego State (4-6): @Utah, @UNLV
Toledo (4-6): Eastern Michigan, @Bowling Green
Tulsa (4-5): East Carolina, @Southern Mississippi, Memphis


Florida Atlantic (3-6): @Troy, Western Kentucky, @Florida International
Hawaii (3-6): @San Jose State, Navy, Wisconsin


Air Force, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Auburn, Boise State, Boston College, Brigham Young, California, Central Florida

Central Michigan, Cincinnati, Clemson, Florida, Fresno State, Georgia, Georgia Tech, Houston, Idaho, Iowa

Iowa State, Kentucky, Louisiana-Monroe, Louisiana State, Miami (Fla.), Michigan State, Middle Tennessee, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri

Navy, Nebraska, Nevada, Northern Illinois, Northwestern, North Carolina, Notre Dame, Ohio, Ohio State, Oklahoma

Oklahoma State, Oregon, Oregon State, Penn State, Pittsburgh, Rutgers, South Carolina, Southern California, Southern Methodist, Southern Mississippi

Stanford, Temple, Texas, Texas Christian, Texas Tech, Troy, Utah, Virginia Tech, West Virginia, Wisconsin

—- Patrick Stevens