The Washington Times - April 18, 2011, 05:01PM

The Tewaaraton Award committee —- which awards college lacrosse’s equivalent of the Heisman Trophy —- settled on a 25-man list of nominees with three weeks left in the regular season.

Five play in the Mid-Atlantic.


Three Maryland stars —- attackmen Grant Catalino and Ryan Youngt and long pole Brian Farrell —- were included, as were Johns Hopkins midfielder John Ranagan and Virginia attackman Steele Stanwick.

Syracuse has four nominees, including the lone goalie on the list (John Galloway), matching the most of any school.

The rundown:

M Peter Baum, Colgate
A Billy Bitter, North Carolina
A Jeremy Boltus, Army
M Zach Brenneman, Notre Dame
A Jay Card, Hofstra
A Grant Catalino, Maryland
LSM C.J. Costabile, Duke
M Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook
M David Earl, Notre Dame
LSM Brian Farrell, Maryland
G John Galloway, Syracuse
A D.J. Hessler, Tufts
A Zach Howell, Duke
A Shayne Jackson, Limestone
D Brian Karalunas, Villanova
A Stephen Keogh, Syracuse
D John Lade, Syracuse
A Rob Pannell, Cornell
M John Ranagan, Johns Hopkins
M Adam Rand, Stony Brook
D Kevin Ridgway, Notre Dame
A Steele Stanwick, Virginia
A Garrett Thul, Army
LSM Joel White, Syracuse
A Ryan Young, Maryland

—- Patrick Stevens