The Washington Times - August 16, 2011, 08:12AM

Just when it seemed like there weren’t any more watch lists to take note of in the preseason, one more came along late Monday.

Maryland quarterback Danny O’Brien was one of 31 players on the Manning Award watch list.


Like the Davey O’Brien Award (whose watch list Danny O’Brien also landed on), the Manning honors the top quarterback in the country.

Unlike the Davey O’Brien Award, it conducts its final voting after the bowl season is wrapped up.

In the seven years of its existence, the Manning Award has gone to the winning quarterback of a national title team four times and to the  QB of a losing BCS title game once.

The other two winners? Just a No. 1 overall pick (JaMarcus Russell) and No. 3 overall pick (Matt Ryan) in their respective NFL Drafts.

Danny O’Brien is the only ACC quarterback on the list. As a point of comparison, here’s the rest of the conferences: Conference USA (5), Pac-12 (5), Big Ten (4), Big 12 (4), Big East (3), Southeastern (3), Mid-American (2), Mountain West (2), Sun Belt (1) and Western Athletic (1).

—- Patrick Stevens