The Washington Times - July 5, 2011, 12:50PM

It’s early July, which means it’s college football watch list time. Consider every post in the next few weeks about a watch list one that goes in the “duly noted” file —- certainly worth mentioning as a nod for an established player, but also a very, very wide net cast two months before the season starts.

Maryland’s Danny O’Brien (Maxwell Award) and Kenny Tate (Bednarik Award) are on the watch lists for trophies handed to the top player and top defensive player, respectively.


O’Brien was the ACC’s rookie of the year a season ago, throwing for 22 touchdown passes. Tate was one of the ACC’s top defensive players last season as a safety; he’ll play linebacker this year.

The ACC candidates (among 66) for the Maxwell Award:

RB Andre Ellington, Clemson
QB Mike Glennon, N.C. State
RB Montel Harris, Boston College
QB E.J. Manuel, Florida State
QB Danny O’Brien, Maryland
RB David Wilson, Virginia Tech

And the ACC’s candidates (among 65) for the Bednarik Award:

S Ray Ray Armstrong, Miami
LB Nigel Bradham, Florida State
DT Quinton Coples, North Carolina
CB Donnie Fletcher, Boston College
CB Jayron Hosley, Virginia Tech
DE Brandon Jenkins, Florida State
LB Luke Kuechly, Boston College
CB Chase Minnifield, Virginia
DE Donte Paige-Moss, North Carolina
LB Kevin Reddick, North Carolina
CB Greg Reid, Florida State
CB Xavier Rhodes, Florida State
LB Sean Spence, Miami
LB Kenny Tate, Maryland
LB Bruce Taylor, Virginia Tech

—- Patrick Stevens