The Washington Times - October 14, 2008, 09:54AM

If the Redskins sign former Seahawks running back Shaun Alexander today, he would become the first former MVP to join Washington. The Redskins have produced three MVPs of their own during the 52-year history of the award: running back Larry Brown (1972), kicker Mark Moseley (1982) and quarterback Joe Theismann (1983).

Alexander would also become just the fifth former MVP on an active roster joining: Jets quarterback Brett Favre, the winner with the Packers from 1995-97; Cardinals quarterback Kurt Warner, the winner with the Rams in 1999 and 2001; Colts quarterback Peyton Manning (2003 and 2004), and Chargers running back LaDainian Tomlinson (2006). Last year’s winner, Patriots quarterback Tom Brady, is on injured reserve.


If Alexander signs with Washington, he would not only reunite with coach Jim Zorn and running backs coach Stump Mitchell, assistants in Seattle for most (Zorn) or all (Mitchell) of his eight years there, he would also rejoin Pro Bowl left tackle Chris Samuels, his teammate and close friend from the University of Alabama.

With 9,429 career yards, Alexander would be fifth among active rushers. Washington’s Clinton Portis is eighth with 8,358. No other team would have two of the top 15 active rushers.

David Elfin