The Washington Times - January 12, 2009, 07:30AM

Arizona‘s advancement to Sunday’s NFC Championship Game means that only three continuous franchises have failed to reach a conference title matchup over the last 17 years. Those three misfits are longtime bumblers Cincinnati and Detroit, plus your beloved Washington Redskins.

Cleveland and Houston also haven’t gotten that far since the Redskins last reached a conference championship in January 1992, but those cities didn’t have NFL representation from 1996-98 and 1997-2001, respectively.


The Bengals and the Lions: not exactly high-class company to be keeping for Team Mediocrity.