- Associated Press - Tuesday, April 15, 2014

MANHATTAN, Kan. (AP) - Former Harris Enterprises executive John Lee and former newspaper publisher and Wichita State University educator Les Anderson have been inducted into the Kansas Newspaper Hall of Fame.

Lee is a former chief executive officer of Harris Enterprises, a newspaper group headquartered in Hutchinson, and a former editor and later publisher of The Hays Daily News.

Anderson, who died in 2011, was former publisher of the Ark Valley News in Valley Center and a longtime WSU professor of journalism. The two were inducted Friday at the annual meeting of the Kansas Press Association in Manhattan. The meeting also included recognition for reporters and editors for community service, investigative reporting and career accomplishments.

Other honors presented:

-Ron Keefover, former public information officer for the Kansas Court System and current president of the Sunshine Coalition, received the Gaston Outstanding Mentor Award for service to the Kansas newspaper industry as an advocate for open courts and open government.

-Miriam Pepper, a vice president and editorial page editor of The Kansas City Star, received the Clyde M. Reed Jr. Master Editor Award.

-Tim Carpenter and Celia Llopis-Jepsen, reporters for The Topeka Capital-Journal, received the Victor Murdock Award for reporting excellence.

-The staff of The Wichita Eagle received the Boyd Community Service Award for its program to help organize free attendance for approximately 250 children at sports camps they would have been unable to afford.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide