You are currently viewing the printable version of this entry, to return to the normal page, please click here.

The Tournament Within the Tournament, Round 2

← return to Daly OT

Remember that just-for-kicks competition we started Thursday, the one among the 11 players from the 1997 U.S. Open who have returned to Congressional in 2011? Well, the ranks thinned considerably in Round 2. Only five guys made the cut. Here’s how the scoreboard looks with 36 holes to go:

The 1997 Returnees Invitational

141 (-1) Davis Love

143 (+1) Phil Mickelson

143 (+1) Lee Westwood

144 (+2) Paddy Harrington

144 (+2) Steve Stricker

Missed Cut

147 (+5) Stewart Cink

148 (+6) Ernie Els

149 (+7) Jim Furyk

149 (+7) David Toms

150 (+8) Fred Funk

151 (+9) Robert Allenby

In our other alternative tournament, the Battle of the Bubbas, we already have a winner. Bubba Dickerson blew up Friday, shot an 81 for a 151 total, and meekly departed the premises. Bubba Watson, on the other hand, managed a 75 to finish right on the 146 cutline. So he’ll be supplying the only Bubba Magic in this Open from here on out.


← return to Daly OT

About the Author
Dan Daly

Dan Daly

Dan Daly has been writing about sports for the Washington Times since 1982. He has won numerous national and local awards, appears regularly in NFL Films’ historical features and is the co-author of "The Pro Football Chronicle,” a decade-by-decade history of the game. Follow Dan on Twitter at @dandalyonsports –- or e-mail him at

Latest Stories

Latest Blog Entries

blog comments powered by Disqus
Happening Now