The Washington Times - April 1, 2009, 08:15PM

I’m flying out to Detroit tomorrow, and should have plenty of goodies from the Final Four over the next few days.

Michigan State, meanwhile, will have plenty of in-state fans who converge on Ford Field this weekend.


I mentioned last week it’s as close to a home-court edge as a team has had in the Final Four since 1988 (when Kansas went to Kansas City). It’s also only the 10th in-state team to reach the Final Four since the format was adopted in 1952.

Here, for anyone interested, is the full rundown:

Year School Site Result
1958 Kentucky Louisville Champion
1959 Louisville Louisville Fourth
1960 California San Francisco
1968 UCLA Los Angeles
1972 UCLA Los Angeles
1974 N.C. State
Greensboro Champion
1975 UCLA San Diego
1980 Purdue Indianapolis Third
1994 Duke Charlotte Runner-up
2009 Michigan State
Detroit TBD

—- Patrick Stevens