The Washington Times - June 2, 2011, 11:57PM

Virginia attackman Steele Stanwick won the Tewaaraton Award on Thursday, three days after helping the Cavaliers win their fifth NCAA tournament.

The Tewaaraton is given to the top player in college lacrosse.


Stanwick, already the ACC player of the year, had 32 goals and 38 assists for Virginia (13-5). He had 21 of his 70 points in four NCAA tournament games.

Stanwick is the eighth player from a national champion in the Tewaaraton’s 11-year history to win the award, and was the only one of the five finalists to play on a team that reached the final four.

Army’s Jeremy Boltus, Syracuse’s John Galloway and Joel White and Cornell’s Rob Pannell were the other finalists.

—- Patrick Stevens