The Washington Times - June 7, 2011, 12:18PM

Linebacker Ryan Donohue and running back Gary Douglas will not return to the Maryland football team in the fall, the school said Tuesday.

They join fullback Haroon Brown in not coming back for coach Randy Edsall‘s first season. The departures informally leave Maryland with 79 scholarship players —- three fewer than the Terrapins are permitted this season after the NCAA’s three-scholarship penalty related to the program’s Academic Progress Rate score is taken into account.


Donohue made 12 tackles in 20 games over the last two seasons, and returned an interception for a touchdown last fall against Wake Forest. He went into the spring as a backup to Demetrius Hartsfield at middle linebacker, and was also a regular contributor on special teams.

Douglas played in only two games —- Morgan State and Duke —- during an injury-plagued 2010. He had two carries for eight yards late in the rout of Morgan State. He had 16 carries for 81 yards and six receptions for 78 yards as a redshirt freshman in 2009, missing two games in the second half of the season with a shoulder injury.

The departures mean 10 players with eligibility remaining have departed the program since January. Six —- Brown, defensive end Ian Davidson, defensive lineman Derek Drummond, linebacker Ben Pooler, quarterback Jamarr Robinson and fullback Taylor Watson —- would have been fifth-year seniors.

In addition, safety Travis Hawkins (Delaware) and quarterback Tyler Smith (Elon) both transferred.

—- Patrick Stevens