The Washington Times - May 12, 2011, 01:07PM

To answer a reader request on new Maryland coach Mark Turgeon … he ranks 20th in victories over the last four years among coaches at major conference programs.

Well, maybe 18th, depending on your methodology. For this chart, both John Calipari (formerly of Memphis) and Sean Miller (formerly of Xavier) are included despite not spending all their time in a power conference. Calipari’s last four Memphis teams had the look of a major-conference program team. Xavier certainly does a rather consistent impersonation of a power-conference team on an annual basis. Both coaches seem like solid exceptions to make.


Turgeon checks in just behind Ben Howland and Jay Wright, and just ahead of Mike Brey. Of the 19 coaches listed ahead of him, 14 own Final Four appearances and eight have won at least one national title —- including a combined 12 of the last 13 championships.

The six coaches immediately below Turgeon? Like the new Maryland coach, none have Final Fours. However, Mike Anderson, Scott Drew and Frank Martin —- all direct competitors with Turgeon in the Big 12 the last four years —- each have an Elite Eight appearance to their name.

The flaw here? This is raw data, and doesn’t account for strength of schedule. Nonetheless, the names you’d expect to dot the list are pretty much all present,

134: John Calipari, Kentucky

132: Bill Self, Kansas

125: Mike Krzyzewski, Duke

119: Roy Williams, North Carolina

111: Jamie Dixon, Pittsburgh

109: Thad Matta, Ohio State

107: Matt Painter, Purdue

106: Rick Barnes, Texas
106: Jim Boeheim, Syracuse

105: Jim Calhoun, Connecticut
105: Tom Izzo, Michigan State

103: Rick Pitino, Louisville
103: Sean Miller, Arizona

101: Bob Huggins, West Virginia

100: Bo Ryan, Wisconsin

99: Billy Donovan, Florida
99: Bruce Pearl, Tennessee

98: Ben Howland, UCLA
98: Jay Wright, Villanova

97: Mark Turgeon, Texas A&M

96: Mike Brey, Notre Dame

95: Frank Martin, Kansas State

93: Mike Anderson, Missouri

92: Lorenzo Romar, Washington
92: Kevin Stallings, Vanderbilt

91: Scott Drew, Baylor

—- Patrick Stevens