The Washington Times - November 13, 2011, 10:11AM

It’s increasingly looking like the bowl-pocalypse will have to wait another year.

There are now 53 teams eligible for the postseason; 21 more need just one victory. And there’s 70 slots. The math isn’t particularly hard.


Anyway, here’s this week’s update:

(EDIT, 4:20 p.m.: Was brought to my attention that Air Force is 5-5 with a pair of wins over lower-division teams. As a result, it is ineligible with a loss rather than eligible with a win heading into next week. It’s been corrected below).

ELIGIBLE (53, up nine from last week)

Alabama, Arizona State, Arkansas, Arkansas State, Auburn, Ball State, Baylor, Boise State, Brigham Young, California

Cincinnati, Clemson, Florida International, Florida State, Georgia, Georgia Tech, Houston, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas State

UL Lafayette, Louisiana State, Louisiana Tech, Michigan, Michigan State, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Northern Illinois, Notre Dame

Ohio, Ohio State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Oregon, Penn State, Rutgers, San Diego State, South Carolina, Southern Mississippi

Stanford, Southern Methodist, Temple, Texas, Texas Christian, Toledo, Tulsa, Utah, Virginia, Virginia Tech

Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin

ELIGIBLE WITH A WIN (21, down one from last week)

Eastern Michigan, Florida, Iowa State, Louisville, Miami, Missouri, Mississippi State, Northwestern, Pittsburgh, Purdue

South Florida, Syracuse, Texas A&M, Texas-El Paso, Texas Tech, UCLA, Vanderbilt, Wake Forest, Western Kentucky, Western Michigan, Wyoming

INELIGIBLE (28, up eight from last week)

Akron, Arizona, Army, Boston College, Buffalo, Central Michigan, Colorado, Duke, Florida Atlantic, Fresno State

Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, UL Monroe, Maryland, Memphis, Middle Tennessee, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Mexico

Oregon State, Rice, San Jose State, Southern California, Troy, Tulane, UAB, UNLV

INELIGIBLE WITH A LOSS (15, up two from last week)

Air Force, Bowling Green, Central Florida, Colorado State, East Carolina, Kent State, Kentucky, Marshall, Miami (Ohio), Navy, New Mexico State, N.C. State

North Texas, Tennessee, Washington State


Connecticut (4-5), Hawaii (5-5), Utah State (4-5)

—- Patrick Stevens