The Washington Times - April 28, 2009, 11:00AM

This year’s Professional Football Writers of America’s award winners are a distinguished group.

Steelers owner Dan Rooney, a Hall of Famer and President Obama’s choice as Ambassador to Ireland, won the Horrigan Award for the person (not a player or a team public relations staffer) who best helped the media do its job.


Cardinals quarterback Kurt Warner, a likely Hall of Famer, won the Good Guy Award as the player who best helped the media do its job last season.

“I’ve been around long enough to understand the important role the media plays in the popularity and success of the NFL,” Warner said. “I’ve always appreciated the job that journalists do as well as the amount of pride and effort they put into their work and I’m grateful to the PFWA for this honor.”

Buccaneers kicker Matt Bryant won the Halas Award for overcoming the most adversity in 2008. Bryant kicked three field goals, including the game-winner that beat the Packers, just four days after the death of his 3-month-old son and a day after the funeral.

The Cardinals won the Rozelle Award for the public relations department that best helped the media do its job in 2008. They are the 13th franchise to win the award in its 29-year history.

And Sports Illustrated’s Peter King won the McCann Award for the PFWA member who has provided long and distinguished service to the profession.

Congratulations to all the winners.

— David Elfin