The Washington Times - December 5, 2013, 12:01PM

Since September, the NCAA has been targeted by nine class-action lawsuits by former football players over the organization’s handling of concussions. The latest came Tuesday from two ex-Missouri players and a former Alabama running back.

The first such case, led by ex-Eastern Illinois football player Adrian Arrington, was filed in September 2011 and is currently in mediation.


Here are the 17 players involved in the nine lawsuits listed in the order in which they sued:

Chris Walker (Tennessee), Ben Martin (Tennessee), Dan Ahern (North Carolina State), Johnny DuRocher (Washington and Oregon), Darin Harris (Washington), Stanley Doughty (South Carolina), Christopher Powell (Kansas), Jerry Caldwell (Georgia Tech), Johnny Brown (Georgia), Paul Morgan (Vanderbilt), Cliff Deese (Vanderbilt), Joseph Balthazor Jr. (Minnesota), John Walton (Saginaw Valley State), William Clark Stevenson (Memphis), Sharron Washington (Missouri), Anthony VanZant (Missouri), Ray Hudson (Alabama).

Two other players, Frank Moore (Pittsburgh) and Anthony Nichols (San Diego State), are involved in a motion to intervene in Arrington’s case.

At least two other concussion-related lawsuits have been filed against the NCAA in state courts, one by the family of deceased Frostburg State football player Derek Sheely in Maryland and the other from Samford soccer player Mary Shelton Wells in Alabama.