The Washington Times - June 11, 2008, 12:59PM

A move that’s been expected for some time was announced within the last hour: The Big East will add men’s lacrosse for the 2010 season.

Georgetown is the local team of interest in this foray, but the 2008 national champion (Syracuse) and a quarterfinalist last month (Notre Dame) are also in the mix. Same goes for Rutgers, St. John’s, Villanova and Providence.


It does not appear the league will immediately have a conference tournament, though with seven teams it is likely it will have an automatic berth to the NCAA tournament.

It’s the second domino to fall in the sport in less than a month. With the creation of the NEC siphoning teams away from a handful of leagues, the next step will be what happens with the leftovers from the ECAC (Fairfield, Hobart, Loyola, Massachusetts and Penn State), the CAA (Delaware, Drexel, Hofstra and Towson) and the GWLL (Air Force, Bellarmine, Denver and Ohio State).