Skip to content

Multiple Topics Found, please select a specific topic.

Illinois Legislature

The Illinois General Assembly is the state legislature of the U.S. state of Illinois and comprises the Illinois House of Representatives and the Illinois Senate. The General Assembly was created by the first state constitution adopted in 1818. The state senate has 59 members while the House has 118. A Senate district is formed by combining two House districts. The current General Assembly is Illinois's 98th.