Skip to content

Multiple Topics Found, please select a specific topic.

American Hockey League

The American Hockey League (AHL) is a 30-team professional ice hockey league based in the United States and Canada that serves as the primary developmental circuit for the National Hockey League (NHL). In the 2010–11 AHL season, every team in the league has an affiliation agreement with a National Hockey League team; in the past, one or two NHL teams would not have an AHL affiliate and would assign players to other teams' organizations. Twenty-six AHL teams are located in the United States and the remaining four are in Canada. The league offices are located in Springfield, Massachusetts, and its current president is David Andrews.